Emergency Management Menu

Hazards and Mitigation

The DEM Mitigation and Recovery Section staff are available before disasters, to help provide mitigation expertise, and after disasters, to facilitate recovery. The staff members have expertise in Public Assistance, the National Flood Insurance Program, Risk Map and mitigation planning. See below for disaster recovery tools, our downloads and staff contacts. See above for our section links.

New Hazard Mitigation Plan Website

looking south toward Salt Lake City with the words Utah state hazard mitigation plan
Click the image above to find state and local plans for how government plans to deal with avalanches, climate change, dam failures, drought, flood, earthquakes, severe weather, wildfires and more. You can also see where we, as a state need to improve. Local government can use this document to learn where to best invest tax dollars.

Utah Hazard Mitigation Assistance Site (BRIC Grant information)

Utah DEM Earthquake Program

Mitigation and Recovery Staff

Janna Wilkinson, Hazard Mitigation and Recovery Bureau Chief
jannawilkinson@utah.gov

Kathy Holder, State Hazard Mitigation Officer
kcholder@utah.gov

Ember Herrick, mitigation/recovery planner
esherrick@utah.gov

Eric Martineau, mitigation specialist
emartineau@utah.gov

Emma McFee, mitigation/recovery planner
emcfee@utah.gov

Max Johnson, mitigation/recovery planner
maxjohnson@utah.gov

Alex Getts, mitigation/recovery planner
agetts@utah.gov

Maranda Miller, mitigation/recovery planner
marandamiller@utah.gov

Tracie Harrison, State Floodplain Manager
tjharrison@utah.gov

McKenzie Goodenough, floodplain specialist
mgoodenough@utah.gov

Jamie Huff, Risk MAP program manager
jhuff@utah.gov

Holly Strand, floodplain mapping and communication specialist
hstrand@utah.gov

Natalee Thomas, floodplain mapping specialist
nataleethomas@utah.gov

Downloadable Publications


Floods: What you know when living in Utah

flood guide cover


Putting Down Roots in Earthquake Country